40 years of faulty wiring

Stop Being an Insufferable Idiot at Work

You think you’ve got problems at work?  You think its your co-workers and/or your boss who is the culprit?  Wake up, whiner. Most of us create our own experience wherever we go, regardless of those around us. I’ve certainly made mistakes at work over the years. I look back on situations I’ve been in, some I have caused and some I have not, and I realized had I handled my reactions differently the outcome and the whole experience of work could have been better. blog:  7 Signs You’re Creating Your Own Workplace Stress Let me tell you what I was like in my 20’s. It’s embarrassing and I cringe when I write it but hey, it’s therapeutic and it might help someone else. Or not. And ultimately it’s my blog and I can write what i want. So there.

Me in my early 20’s at my first job out of university. I worked for a non-profit organization and of course the pay was pitiful. I didn’t care. What I didn’t know was that jobs anywhere, but especially for non-profit agencies, require a lot more than just the job description. I was a rookie.
blog: 10 Bogus CoWorker Complaints I did some really good things at this organization that were acknowledged in a strong letter of reference when I resigned (oh, happy day), but I did some incredibly insufferable things:

  1. I refused to take on projects the boss tried to give me. That’s right. I sat there and said “no.”
  2. I hated the job after a month…  but I stayed anyway. Here are 5 good reasons to leave right away.
  3. I bad-mouthed the boss to a volunteer. Fortunately for me the volunteer was a personal friend for years or I would have received my walking papers… which might not have been a bad thing, come to think of it. Of course I bad-mouthed her because I thought she was a terrible boss.  It didn’t occur to me that I was a terrible employee.
  4. I didn’t fully apply myself to many tasks. No duh.
  5. I isolated myself from my coworkers. video: Bully at Work

In my mid-20s I worked for a public institution and received considerably better pay and good benefits. I had a union, but unfortunately it didn’t occur to me to use as needed. Here are some glittering gaffes:
I tolerated verbal abuse and rumours because I didn’t realize my union could put a stop to it.
This in turn made me suspicious and unhappy.
I responded in kind.
I wasn’t a team player for weeks after starting my job.
I hated the job and again I didn’t quit… for 4 yearsRead Make Life More Stable with More Frequent Job Changes.
I failed to recognize upwardly mobile career paths.
I had the option of furthering my education in this industry free of charge but didn’t. video: Dilbert – In Summary Video

The whole time, I am not kidding you, I blamed everyone else for my work dissatisfaction. To be sure there were people at these organizations who were difficult coworkers but the point is I didn’t manage my professional relationships well. I tolerated abuse, I responded in kind, and I failed to seek help from senior level employees. At least I can honestly say I learned from these glaring mistakes and so far as I can tell, I’m not repeating them.  I really love my work. I really like my colleagues. I really look forward to getting out of bed and going to work. I also get to work online and that is an awesome option.
video: Dilbert – Reading People and Motivation Fairy
video: Lunch Looters

Hey, what can I say. I grew up and work became much better. Imagine that.

April 28, 2011 - Posted by | Career | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

